I LOVE MADRID

(London blog still to come)

Today was perfect. It made me realize just how much I really truly love Madrid. Like, I’m moving here. It might have something to do with the fact that I call this place home, but of all the cities I’ve seen, I think Madrid is still my favorite. 

My day started off like every other Wednesday. Since I don’t have class until 2:30, a bunch of our friends usually get together for lunch at Tierra Burrito. But since I love churros and have eaten at Tierra the past 2 Wednesdays, I wanted to switch it up and go to the famous San Gines chocolatería in Sol. I asked our group if any one wanted to join me, but as soon as someone else mentioned Tierra everyone was set on burritos. I’ve been waiting to get churros for a while now, so I decided to just go off on my own. I also had to do some shopping in the Sol area too so I figured now was the perfect time. Last night I looked up directions to San Gines and set my alarm for my morning churros. 

I pulled a classic Molly move this morning and left my iPod at home with the directions. I knew what metro stop/exit to take but that was all. I figured that I would at least recognize the street exit if I saw it. Unfortunately, the exit I was looking for wasn’t there. So I took a shot in the dark and just chose one. I’d never gotten off at this stop before, so I really had no idea where I was going. Shocker. I knew the place was near Sol though, so when I saw a bus going to Sol turn down the street I immediately followed it. Moments later I ran into a street name that I remembered writing down the night before. I took yet another shot in the dark and quickly turned left, not knowing if I should’ve gone right. I walked down the block to see the name of the street that San Gines was on. Just seconds later I was standing in front of the famous chocolatería. I knew from the hustle and bustle around it that it was going to be fabulous. I couldn’t believe that I had actually made it there. I was so excited!! I walked in and ordered my churros, not really sure what to expect. The waiter was super friendly and in less than 10 minutes he brought out my plate of 6 churros and a cup of chocolate. It was heaven on a plate. I was more than enjoying my churros in the cafe when J. Biebs’s “Beauty and a Beat” came on over the stereo. At that moment I thought to myself, life is perfect. I downed my churros con chocolate in no time and then headed to El Corte Inglés to look at cameras. 

My camera has been having issues and won’t upload pictures to my computer or let me view all of them on the camera. I tried numerous things to fix it, but nothing seemed to work. There was no way I was going to leave for Morocco tomorrow without a functioning camera. When I saw a camera in the window similar to mine, I thought to ask if they sold just the USB cord to see if that was the problem before I bought a whole new camera. They didn’t sell the exact cord, but the cashier gave me a universal port to put my sim card in that could hook up to my computer instead. I was so proud of myself. I had walked in a talked with the man in Spanish about my camera and thought my problem was solved. It was such a great feeling. Now that my camera problem was temporarily solved, I was in need of leggings for our Latin Rhythms performance. I found this store while I was walking around, talked to the saleswoman and bought some leggings. I was on a roll today, chatting up a storm. From there, I just kind of walked around hoping to run into this store that Jess raved about. At this point I had walked 2 or 3 metro stops from Sol to the Gran Vía area. I was loving every second of it. I was just by myself enjoying Madrid more than anything. It was just awesome. I LOVE EUROPE AND THIS CITY. I still had time to kill before I needed to go to class, so I just kept walking and window shopping. As I kept walking I couldn’t believe what I had stumbled upon. THE TACO BELL OF MADRID. So obviously I had to stop and have lunch because my churros weren’t enough. It wasn’t quite up to US’s standards, but I was glad to have it. Fun fact: the phrases on the sauce packets are still written in English. 

Now that I was full with tacos and churros, it was finally time to head to school. I went to class, came home, did homework, tried to figure out my camera (which still isn’t right), and lounged around the rest of the night. Today was such a great day. It makes me sad to think that I only have 24 days left here. It’s gonna be a rough goodbye. 

What a day. 

*I took some pics today while I was out but can’t get them on my computer right now. I’ll upload them when I figure out what’s wrong with my camera*

T-MINUS 1.5 DAYS TILL MOROCCO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

