Faith Restored

After last night’s situation at Kapital, my faith in Madrid has been restored thanks to a wonderful day today. We slept in a little and allowed ourselves to recover from last night before we headed to this new burrito bar near school for lunch. I walked up to order my food and the worker greeted me with a “hi”. Being so used to speaking Spanish, I responded, “Hola”. He shot back, “Oh, hola”. Turns out I don’t look very Spanish after all. He couldn’t have been more shocked that I actually spoke Spanish. I continued to order my food in Spanish just for kicks and giggles. These guys essentially wanted to bring Qdoba/Chipotle to Spain so they opened up this burrito bar. The environment was super chill and awesome. And they had a soda machine open to the public!!!!!!! First time we’ve seen anywhere in Europe. They just don’t believe in free refills here. Needless to say, we abused it. When our food babies were fully grown, Jess went home to get some homework done and Rachael and I went to Plaza Mayor to kill time before we needed to be back. We put down the map and got wonderfully lost, wandering in whichever direction we wanted because we had no agenda. The beautiful thing about Madrid is that you can find a metro station anywhere so it really never matters where you are; you can always get home. We walked into some cute shops and just soaked up the area. Sol/Plaza Mayor is my favorite place in Madrid. It has everything from street performers to restaurants. I ended up buying a pair of heels in this cute little shop to ensure that I would get into Kapital the next time we tried. 

We were still full from lunch when it was time to go home for dinner. We had asked madre if we could eat a little earlier than usual because we had planned on going to the Ice Bar and they were having some sort of show with the Northern Lights so you could experience it at actual temperatures. 

To everyone’s surprise, we made it to the Ice Bar in time. Jess and Rachael were a little shocked because tonight’s dinner was a rough and took me longer than usual to eat. And the proportion sizes madre gives us keep growing I swear. But we made it to the Ice Bar with just enough time to put on our parkas and see the Northern Lights show which actually turned out to be a pictures on a TV screen. It was a little disappointing, but still fabulous because we were hanging out in an igloo. We had a fantastic time sitting on ice furniture, taking pictures, and wearing parkas. But after an hour, our feet/legs were starting to get a little chilly. I mean, it was only -8 degrees in there. 

So we headed back home to just chill and watch a movie. I’d say that my faith in Madrid has been restored. We have lots of plans for tomorrow, there’s just so  much to do in Madrid! Ah I love it here!!! (Good thing my hate only lasted less than 24 hours.)

What a day. 

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.